This “Thing” That We Do…

In attempting to communicate my connection to dance, I find the word passion to be one of stringent inadequacy.  Passion is often defined as an overwhelming inclination or emotion toward a specific thing.  But the ambiguity of this explanation perpetuates an unworthy contextualization of proclivity, as if one is predisposed to dance by tendency. Although it does sufficiently evoke a sense of rare intensity and eager affinity, I question the definition’s ability to appropriately describe my need to move or even, the exertion and difficulty in the work of a dancer.  Dance does not always feel good nor is it a natural tendency for many. Yet, it is a fundamental element that I cannot genuinely see my life without. For dance, I feel not merely a passion, but more vividly, an unrelenting compulsion.

